Exploring a Four Day School Week

Exploring a Four Day School Week


Traditionally, the Hallsville School District has held classes five days a week. Feedback provided through annual climate survey results and calendar feedback indicates a desire for the district to explore a four-day week school calendar. Based on this feedback, Hallsville School District is beginning to research and study the implementation of a 4-day school week for the 2020-2021 school year.

 

The motivations for this potential change include:

  • Recruiting and retaining quality staff

  • Improved attendance during the four school days

  • Providing time for staff collaboration in preparing for high quality instruction

  • Increased quality time for families.

 

Survey Results


Recently, Hallsville faculty and staff, students in the upper grades (7th, 9th, 11th), and  Hallsville families in preschool through twelfth grade completed a preliminary survey on the potential of a four-day school week calendar.  A summary of the results can be found below.  


Summary of Parent Survey Results
Summary of Student Survey Results
Summary of Staff Survey Results  




Study Group


Based on preliminary survey results, the feedback suggested the district should convene a committee to study the issue and make a presentation to the Board of Education.  Based on interest and/or their role in the community, members were asked to join the four-day school week calendar committee. Their role will be to assist with reviewing survey results, reading research on the implementation of a four-day school week, and possible draft calendar creation. The study group will also make two presentations to the Board of Education at their November and December meetings.  


Exploring a Four-Day School Week October Meeting Information  
Exploring a Four-Day School Week November Meeting Information  
Board of Education November Update Presentation

Draft Calendars


2019-2020 DRAFT Hallsville Calendars (updated 11.25.19)
2019-2020 other 4 Day School District Calendars


Research

Exploring a Four-Day School Week Information Sheet
Summary of Information:  Four Day School Week
Missouri State Four-Day School Week Resource Center
Assessed Valuation and Enrollment of 4 Day School Districts
Attendance of 4 Day School Districts


Study Group Members

Matt Boyer, HHS Counselor, mboyer@hallsville.org

Logan Carter, Mayor & parent

Kelli Cash, Parent, kellimariew@yahoo.com, 573.356.6943

Jessica Cobb, Intermediate Secretary & parent, jcobb@hallsville.org Jessi Conyers, Parent,

Brandon Crites, parent

Matt Foster, bus driver

Debbie George, community member & daycare owner

Stephanie Hampton, paraprofessional & parent, shampton@hallsville.org

Michelle Haynam, Parent

Travis Kinkade, HHS teacher & coach, tkinkade@hallsville.org

Monica Melton, HMS teacher, coach, & parent, mmelton@hallsville.org

Whitney Myers, Title I Teacher & parent, wmyers@hallsville.org

Shanda Nichols, Board member & parent, snichols@hallsville.org

Chelsea Otten, Primary teacher & parent, cotten@hallsville.org Ty Sides, HMS Principal & parent, tsides@hallsville.org, 573.696.5512 x306

Lauren Terry, K-5 Interventionist & parent, lterry@hallsville.org, 573.220.0382

Mallory Tuttle, Intermediate teacher & parent, mtuttle@hallsville.org

Bryan Wildenhain, Board member & parent, bwildenh@hallsville.org Tara Wise, Parent, tarawisecleaning@icloud.com, 573.356.4070
John Downs, Superintendent, jdowns@hallsville.org




Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.